• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Ep3 type r engine mounts

Hi guys and girls, newbie here. I can't see any thread covering this so thought I'd start one. I've got a clonking noise when pulling away and I suspect it's an engine mount. I've already changed the side mount (next to washer bottle) which has a made big difference as the car was really jerky on and off throttle but there's still the clonking noise. I also recently changed both the lower ball joints and drop links so I know the front suspension is nice and tight. My question is does anyone know how many engine and gearbox mounts there are and where they are? Any info greatly appreciatedo, cheers Karl

There's four; right, front, back and gearbox (left). Left and right are fairly obvious, front and back are under the manifolds and accessed from underneath. They're not cheap, fitting is awkward.

A cheap stopgap fix is to use mount inserts, Energy Suspension do front and rear, Powerflex do the gearbox. Some people complain about the extra vibration from the inserts, I loved them.

Hi Jimbo, I knew it was either 4 or 5 but wasn't sure. I'll probably go the difficult route and fit the genuine oem mounts as I'd like to keep it honda. The inserts are a tempting option though if I'm honest. Thanks for the info, at least I know where to start now. Cheers

I changed my engine mounts and fitted the inserts so they will be good for the life of the car now, expensive, but worth it in my opinion you do get more vibration but it isn't that bad, I find it liveable.

Also worth checking your top mounts, I had a clunking noise changed drop links, ball joints etc and it turned out to be them so may be worth a look.