• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

FK2 Help with FK2 tyres

Hey guys, I understand tyre questions are frequently asked on here however I'm a complete noob when it comes to tyres, the influx of different answers/ questions etc is too much for my brain to process haha! I would really appreciate if someone could answer some simple questions.

Soon my continentals will need to be changed. As many other FK2 owners I've had problems kerbing my alloys. As the continentals are effectively stretched over the alloys, will upgrading to a wider tyre (245) decrease the chances of kerbing my alloys even more and add some protection?

Also is upgrading to a larger tyres as simple as putting it on? It'll not change toe/ camber etc?

I've already decided I'm going to run the Michelin pilot tyres in whichever size, as they seem to get much praise.

Sorry for the stupid questions but would appreciate answers.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've got no issues editing the first post when we have established answers for the most frequently asked questions.

Cheers guys!

Here's my opinion on the 245 tyre choice... If you're doing it for looks then fine go for it. If you're doing it to reduce the chances of kerbing your wheels don't bother. At the end of the day the tyre is flexible and your wheel isn't if you graze a kerb the tyre will flex away and the wheel won't.

Changing the tyre should be fine alignment wise but if you can get it checked it's always worth doing.

Michelin Pilot sport 4s are what I would go for in your position but I have Pilot sport 3s at the moment because I got a good deal on them. Both are great (I had Pilot super sport which are basically pilot sport 4s before my current set) but the sport 3s just don't feel quite as good.