• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

DC2 DB8 DC5 Newbie with a DC2 - B series engine swap from other models

Hi All,

I have recently brought a UK DC2 minus engine, box (basically running gear) and wanted some advice/clarification on how best to proceed with various scenarios of dropping in different engines

I am still quite new to the Honda scene having only owned one EG LSI, MB6 VTI and a DC2 which I blew up in 2 days of owning around 10 years ago , however have owned and worked on stuff like Skylines (R32-R34’s), Supra, soarer and Evo’s so I’m ** be fine, however I may not be aware of some the terminology in the Honda world so bear with me!

Things I’ve learnt about my UK DC2:

1) The engine harness has OB2a connectors, however the ECU connectors are OBD1 ‘style’ connectors

2) Unlike an EK/EM1 the DC2/MB6/EG the engine loom terminates at the strut towers…. EK/EM1 engine looms run from the engine through the bulkhead and connect directly to the interior loom/ECU

Option 1
B16A2 from an EK which I believe would be OBD2A?
Since I won’t be able to use the EK loom (as it runs directly to the ECU and not the strut towers) Would the MB6 B18c4 loom suffice?
Or would I need to use a OEM UK DC2 loom OB2A to run the B16A2?
In either scenario which ECU would be best to use?

Option 2
B16A2 from EG/CR-X which I believe is OBD1?
Although the EG (not sure about CR-X) has a similar loom lay out to the DC2/MB6 i.e loom connects by strut its OB1, so my question is will the EG loom connect fine with the DC2 end at the strut tower? ( any re-pinning needed?)
From an ECU perspective since the DC2 has OBD1 ‘style’ connectors would an OEM EG ECU connect and work fine?

Option 3
B18c4 from MB6 VTI which I believe is OBD2A?