• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Change front brake pads on a CTR.

Hi guys and gals. I did this the other day, as I be-grudge paying the stealers 60 quid and hour for some spotty Oik to do it for me. So I thought I would spread the wealth.

I apologise if I'm teaching some of you to suck eggs with some of this, but I prepared this as a presentation for work, based at absolute beginners.

Inventory:
  • Jack (Supplied with the car. Use a better one if you can)
  • Wheel brace (Supplied with the car)
  • Locking nut socket (Supplied with the car/set)
  • Either a 12mm spanner/socket set/adjustable wrench
  • Flat head screwdriver
  • Piston clamp (not entirely necessary)
  • Heat resistant grease e.g. Copper slip/Molykote grease (supplied with OEM pads)
  • Toothbrush (optional)
  • Kitchen roll/rag
This should take the beginner mechanic between 1-1.5 hours to complete both sides.

Before You Start:

Try to have the car on a flat surface. Apply the hand brake to prevent the car from rolling backwards once jacked up. If at all possible find something comfortable to kneel or sit on.

First loosen all of the nuts connecting the wheel to axle. A wheel brace should be supplied with the car. Turn the wheel brace anti-clockwise to loosen.

9DSC01902.jpg

The locking nut socket will have a matching design to the locking nut. It will not be hexagonal like the standard bolts.

9DSC01901.jpg

Once the wheel nuts are loose enough to undo my hand, you can jack up the car. Underneath the car, find a suitable site to place the jack. The CTR has a jacking point near the wheel. Consult you manual to locate your jacking point if you are unsure.

9DSC01903.jpg