• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

First time plastic spraying with Pics

Hi All

So I am a new member of this organisation known as the TRO, and I was lucky enough to get my hands on an 04 Civic Type R EP3. I wanted to start my mod journey with some interior clean ups, this is how a re-spray of the centre console slide tray (the bit with the type r badge under the gear stick) went for me.

I must point out that I have never done anything like this before, but I thought it might be helpful to show the results I got.

So armed with my wallet a took a trip to HALFORDS and purchased the following,

Can of plastic primer grey
Can of Ford graphite grey (I liked the look of this colour)
Can of Clear lacquer
Wire-wool
masking tape

You will be looking to spend £18-30 based on what you get and need.

Here is a picture of the Cans,

scaled.php

1. Firstly I persuaded the tray out with my usual club hammer approach, I had to twist the tray out of the surround, and this is what I was left with,

scaled.php

2. Firstly clean the plastic and use a very fine sandpaper or wire-wool to smooth out any key marks etc. Once you have done this you have the option of covering the badge with masking tape OR removing it. I used a hammer on the back pins of the badge with a little gentle persuasion with a flat-head screwdriver. I also put some masking tape around the base of the tray as this will be hidden once back in the car.

scaled.php