• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

First Track Day Advice

Hi,

This is my first post on this forum. I have just signed up for my first track day in my EP3 and looking for some tips on how to get the most out of it.

My EP3 is totally standard and I have never done a track day before. Having read some advice on various websites I have signed on to a novice only day which is sessioned. I tried to book some tuition but it’s sold out.

Any general advice would be appreciated, but my current questions are;
1. How much tyre tread do you use on a track day? I ask, as I have 4mm tread on the front tyres and I was worried I would go below the legal limit before I drive home?
2. Any recommendations on an app to use to log my time on track?
3. Should I take out track day insurance? If so any recommendations on who to use?

1. What tyres are they? Some will wear harder than others. With it being your first track day, you're unlikely to wear from 4mm to 1.6mm so I'd say you should be fine.
2. Don't use an app or time yourself, concentrate on enjoying yourself and being safe, not only yourself but other track day participants too.
3. That's a personal decision. I used to take it out but I don't any more. Track day insurance generally does not cover recovery home or 3rd party damage, so you'll only be covered to the value of repair/replacement of your car, usually less a hefty excess.

3. is more "could you afford to live without the car or replace/repair without"?

How is third-party damage worked out then, every person for themselves?

How is third-party damage worked out then, every person for themselves?

That's a huge can of worms that has been argued about on Pistonheads and track day forums for years.