Home
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Brake Disc Options

Default Brake Disc Options

I am looking for a replacement for the OEM disc and have narrowed it down to one of these 3:

GiroDisc fully floating 2 part
    Tarox non floating 2 part
    EBC fully floating 2 part

I have extensive experience of the Tarox discs from my RS3 and they were OK but certainly not worth all the hype on their website.

The GiroDisc is the most expensive option and EBC one of the cheaper and they also offer a matching (non 2 piece) rear disc.

I will be doing plenty of trackdays this year and I don't want to leave the OEM drilled discs on, as drilled disks are pretty pants for a number of reasons.

If you know of other possibilities then please let me know, I will be running RS29 pads front and probably yellow stuff on the rear as Pagid don't make rear pads for the FK8.

Thanked 8,279 Times in 5,184 Posts

Have you had a look for Performance Friction discs? Iíve used those and Girodisc, both excellent although I felt the PF discs were better.

Also look to see if Brembo do an upgrade.

Quote Originally Posted by Chris. View Post
    Have you had a look for Performance Friction discs? Iíve used those and Girodisc, both excellent although I felt the PF discs were better.

Also look to see if Brembo do an upgrade.
    Good call on the PF option, thanks.
    Brembo discs tend to be drilled which always suffer premature cracking and the holes filling up with pad dust.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Arcam View Post
    Good call on the PF option, thanks.
    Brembo discs tend to be drilled which always suffer premature cracking and the holes filling up with pad dust.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
    The more track orientated Brembo discs are drilled or grooved, depends what you want. Take a look at the Type III disc for example. I ran them on my DC5 without any issues and that car was thrashed on track at every opportunity.