• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Amp Install Help

I know theres a few threads on it but cant find the answer im looking for

The last time a "professional" installed one for me he put the AUX and power leads down the same side of the car which isnt right, right? As it caused a buzzing noise and pops.

So im gonna run the power down the left and the aux down the right but need help on where to feed the wires and where to feed the power cable through to the engine bay.

Also does it matter what side i feed the remote cable down ?

As you can tell im a noob and im preparing to do my 1st sub/amp install.

:D

Remote cable should go with the aux leads but it doesn't matter. Some joining kits have the remote cable attached to the aux lead.

If you already have kit in the car the power cable is already in through the bulkhead so just re-route down the other side of the car. Will take a few hours if you've not done it before.

Just remember to remove the fuse from the box in the engine bay or remove it from the battery before move it as you'll have a live lead otherwise.

Thanks i havnt had a sub/amp in the civic i had one in my old golf so im starting from scratch.

the power cable looks simple its just the aux and running it down the drivers side into the back of the headunit that looks tricky as to where to feed them through

It's easy mate, just takes time and you have to be careful with all the clips.

Run the powercable in through the pre existing grommet on the bulkhead, then down the passenger side. The best earth point is under the rear seat iirc.

Remote/aux from behind the headunit then above your knees if you're sat in the drivers seat behind the panel and down the drivers side.