• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Any advice on Meguiars G220

WPJ

Hi all,

Ive been thinking of investing in a megs G220 but i am a bit worried about using it!, as i have never used a machine polisher before.
My car is a NHB EP3 and has a lot of swirl marks on it, (mostly caused by myself)! After looking up information about polishing online and have realised there is a lot more to cleaning your car than just attacking it with some polish and a piece of cloth!!
So im looking to get rid of these swirls that ive caused and understand that the car needs to be cleaned properly, clayed etc, but im unsure about what pads i should use for the g220 and the whole polishing process in general.

Here are the products im thinking of using as i already have the Meguiars 3 step system.

Meguiars clay
Meguiars Deep crystal paint cleaner
Meguiars Ultimate compound
Meguiars Deep crystal polish
Meguiars Deep crystal carnauba wax

What im unsure about is, do i apply all products with the machine? or does the paint cleaner and wax need to go on by hand? do i need to use the paint cleaner and the compound etc

My other problem is that i dont have a garage to put the car in and i would probably be doing this over the weekend out side my house. Im just thinking is it worth having a go my self or would it be better saving my money and taking the car to a pro?
I just dont want to spend alot of time and money just to find i have had no results or even worse, ruined my paint work!!

Any advice would be much appreciated

Hi mate.

The G220 is a good DA polisher, but there are cheaper ones on the market that do the same job, namely the DAS6 and DAS pro by kestrel.