• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Can I use this oil on my CTR EP3 2005?

Hey guys.

I bought my 2005 ctr ep3 last week. The guy I bought the car from gave me this stuff below (said he hadnt got round to changing the oil).... is this ok to use??

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Thanks for any assistance!
Ciaran

Thanks but that is like a different language to me. I just want to know if this stuff will do any damage if I use it... Sorry for being thick! :S

10W-40 is recommended for the run in only and being an 05 reg I’m guessing your car is run in now.

After run in Honda recommend anything between 0W-40 & 5W-40

I'm sure oilman will come across this thread soon and will be able to give you a better answer then I can as unlike him I’m not an oil expert.

All I can tell you is that your oil is not recommended for your car, if it'll do damage I can't say

The 10W lets you know the viscosity at low temperature and the 40 is the viscosity at high temperature. Honda recommend a 0W or 5W for low temp viscosity so I’d say whilst your car's warming up it may cause more wear as the oil's thicker then recommended until the car's up to temperature

Last edited by a moderator:
Honda use 10w40 for running in. I don't think you will do any damage using it, but you would be better off 5w40 fully synthetic like Fuchs Titan Pro S.

Cheers guys! Much appreciated. I thought that from reading the info at the link above but just wanted confirmation. Cheers!

Unless you're running your engine from cold in an extremely cold environment, the 10w-40 stuff should be fine.