• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Got an aftermarket head unit- what bits do I need to fit it?

Just to let you all know I'm a total noob at this type of stuff. :lol:

ive just bought a second hand alpine cda-9847r headunit, just wanting to know what parts I need to buy to fit it.

As far as I know I need a "harness adaptor (pc2-68-4)" and aerial adaptor?

is this correct, if I do need a aerial adaptor do any of you know what the code is for it?

Cheers guys

link for headunit http://www.mynewcheap.co.uk/products/details/alpine-cda-9847r/2323/

You might need a ISO aerial adapter, you can get the from halfords for £5 but wait til you have the unit, if you have a hole in the back then the standard one will fit if you just have a round connector then you will need the adapter. If you are unsure post a pic of the back of the unit and i'll explain further.

You will also need a fascia adapter if your removing the standard unit as the new one wont fit properly otherwise.

You will also need a fascia adapter if your removing the standard unit as the new one wont fit properly otherwise.

Wrong, it'll fit fine without and look better than with a facia with are usually a poor fit and colour match. I take it's an EP3 we're talking about.

Wrong, it'll fit fine without and look better than with a facia with are usually a poor fit and colour match. I take it's an EP3 we're talking about.

yes mate, ep3 type r face lift. Just been trying to post a picture for an hour or so. gave up with it.

back of the head unit has 2 black cables coming out, 1 from top left and 1 from top right, the top right is a circular, left is not.

Cant explain any better. Ill try and upload the pic again