• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Issues with my ep3 gearbox

So I just recently bought a civic type r, and as my newbie post said I'm new to the whole side of fixing and modifying cars but eager to learn with some help
icon_biggrin.gif

short form of my story is...

I picked up my car a few weeks ago, guy said 3rd synchro was going on it. Managed to drive it a few hundred miles home in which 3rd was crunching to begin with and then I lost it completely. 4th was starting to crunch as well. Managed to get it MOT'd last week after putting on new headlights.

On the way back from the MOT place to put my car back into my mates garage the gearbox just went crazy and now it's completely gone screwy.It now has no gears except 3 and 4.. can't put it into any other gear, and the car is in a gear when in neutral... something seriously going on, and I also can no longer drive my car at all.

Does anyone have any ideas on what the hell is going on? What I can get my mate to check for me, or if it's a case of a whole new gear box? If it is the case of a new gearbox, my local breakers want £700/800 for a used one untested and unknown miles... does anyone else know of anywhere I could get one? Im located in the southern part of Scotland, 50miles south of Edinburgh. I'm willing to travel a little for one if that's the case, or I have a friend coming up from near London on Friday that could pick me one up on the way here...

Thanks in advance for any help and suggestions
icon_smile.gif
as I'm clueless :p

Check there is nothing caught in the linkages, which are two cables that run to the top of the gearbox and you can see them once the airbox is removed. If there isn't anything caught in them and they are still attached, then yep it looks more serious.