• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Just got my Type R, need advise!

I'm new to this so I don't even know if I'm posting on the right part of the this forum.

Nevertheless...

I have purchased a Cosmic Grey Premier CTR.

It already has an Induction kit that feeds down the bonnet but I don't know what to start doing to it next.

It needs some TLC for example I'll be changing the grill because it has a crack in it but not sure whether to get the Mugen grill or stick to the facelift grill.

Any advise would be helpful.

ThankS

P.S.
I would post pictures but it wont let me for some reason!

Last edited by a moderator:
From what I have been told on here, get FRSU (fast road set up), the change in handling, etc is supposed to be night and day compared to standard.

Depending on how deep your pockets are you can do alot...a few people tend to change the exhaust, bigger manifold and then remap as a good base and from what I have read results can be quite good, again, depends on how much you want to spend :) What induction kit do you have? Alot of members will recommend a gruppe M or tegiwa replica for maximum gains if you haven't got one already, I'm running a Typhoon K&N which I am pretty happy with :)

With regards to the grill, it is personal preference.. I have always liked the mugen grill but can live with OEM.

I would recommend a website like photobucket to upload photos if you aren't doing so already.

Oh yea...and welcome to TRO :)

Welcome to TRO!

What Grim Rep3r said. FRSU is a must, the difference is night and day. Most people will fit uprated springs at the same time.

Have a read through a bunch of build threads to decide what you like.

Some of the cheap things you might want to do

Engine mount inserts
Braided brake lines