• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

EP3 New to the Forum / Hopefully Purchasing my first Ep3

Good Morning/Afternoon Everyone,

Im new to the Performance car scene, I have eventually managed so save up through the years and purchase the car i have always wanted to own the Ep3 Civic Type R.

So i thought this would be a good place to come and get some advice , I am travelling 4/5 hour to view a Ep3 on Saturday and i have already placed a deposit (Which will be refunded if i do not purchase the car).

It has 11 Stamps (05 Reg) and currently sitting on 110k miles. I have done my research and looks like 110k is nothing aslong as the car has been looked after. Recently Serviced less than 1000 miles , New Spark plugs , Oil Etc.

From the photos the car looks to be in Pristine condition , Nice Powerflow exhaust system installed , New Clutch recently fitted and bodywork/alloys all refurbished and detailed.

Its up for just short of £5,000 , which seems top dollar for Ep3 in this day and age?

Is their anything that you guys could recommend for me to have a look for ?

I will be also taking this Car out for a test drive.

Thank you very much :)

Not essential but find out if the timing chain has been done. Otherwise when you start it listen for it rattling as this could be an early sign that it wants looking at. Clutch should be fine if it's been done.

Pretty much listen for anything out of the ordinary really given the age of the car I wouldn't worry if it needs drop links or other minor things replacing if original.

Make sure the oil level is good before you start it obviously.

Other than that it's down to what you can see and hear buddy. Hope it's a good one!