• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Cams vs manifolds

Hazz

B16
First off, money no object & I like my current exhaust note & ability to pass MOT and VOSA inspection.

Now, which is likely to put a bigger smile on my face?

A) New Cams (skunk stage 1 or TDi most likely)

B) Manifold with sports CAT, intake mani & hondata gasket

I guess, although have no evidence to base this on, that the manifolds will significantly increase the Db from the pipe... Can anybody quantify this for me? How much louder? i.e. Would I want to put a silenced B-pipe back on?

Cheers :)

I'm no expert but I'd you'd want to go mani before cams to get the best gains

That's basically what I'm asking, which will provide more power, sh1ts & giggles. I'd like cams (to keep my exhaust note) but if I'm only going to see 5hp from them then I'll go for the manifolds.

Yea, I've done manifolds on a few past cars & know the potential benefits.... I just thought, maybe the cams would be more fun?

They're also a bit more stealthy :p

I'm not just saying this because I've just done the test on the TDi cams but my exhaust got quite a bit louder after I had the Tegi manifold fitted. It's still 96.5dB on my setup though so it's by no means OTT.

The Skunk2 Stage 1s are also a bit of a misnomer. They claim to be DICs but when Paul ran them in his car they led to a damaged collet as he used standard valve springs at the time which is why I had them done. They've also very probably caused my tensioner to fail as my engine is only on 45k. Don't get me wrong I love the Skunk2s to bits. They were awesome on track, I had lots of comments on how punchy the car felt from P rides at the Ring and Spa, but for the gains if they were out at the time I'd have gone for the TDi cams.