• Registered users are encouraged to enable MFA/2FA to add an aditional layer of security to their account. More information can be found here: https://www.ncsc.gov.uk/collection/top-tips-for-staying-secure-online/activate-2-step-verification-on-your-email

Can the EP3 be made to pop like a modern car?

Hi all!

I am aware that the EP3 is in no way comparable to most modern cars, however I am a beginner when it comes to exhausts and I'd like to understand the phenomenon of pops, and how to manipulate it, if possible.

I've had the luck of experiencing several modern performance cars (mostly talking about hot hatches) and I really grew to love the sound some of them make with quiet, but deep and raspy exhaust notes with a few pops and gurgles between shifts. Do they achieve this by retarding the timing (and other mapping tricks) or is this the effect of the exhaust system itself (thinking of pulsing exhaust waves and other airflow characteristics or maybe the presence of a turbo)?

My car currently has a stock intake and exhaust system, since I do a lot of highway driving, I want it to be nice and quiet.
I would only start to mod it, if I was certain I could achieve something that is quiet at highway speeds but has a nice tone on the top-end with a hint of pops (new Megane RS comes to mind, again, I am aware the cars are in no way comparable, just as an example of the end result I am looking for).

Do you think it is possible to build such a system, either way, please grant me some insight into the world of exhausts and their workings on our cars.

Thanks!

If you're after quiet, but with a nice tone overall then one of the JASMA certified exhausts like the ones made by Fujitsubo or similar would do.